Mommy’s Unite!

I have been wanting to start this sort of blog for awhile and just now seemed to have gotten the ‘umph’ and everything else I needed to go ahead and start it!

Reasons for creating this type of blog?
1. For accountability
2. To show how easy, fun and encouraging it can be to eat right and LOSE WEIGHT
3. To be an encouragement to other mamas!

Yes, I said easy.  I’m sure most of you are thinking that that’s a pretty crazy idea. But don’t leave me in the dust, just yet! I need your attention for just a few more minutes.

I gained 70 lbs with my first pregnancy and after she was born, I weighed in at a crazy 205 lbs for my 5′ 2″ frame. Yikes.

In April 2014 (13 months postpartum), I started the Trim Healthy Mama plan. I lost 5 lbs after about a month. My husband didn’t do it with me, so it was difficult to prepare two separate meals for us. Finally, we decided it wasn’t worth it and went with another plan that my husband had lost weight with — “Low-Fat Living” by Robert K. Cooper. In 4 months’ time I lost 20 lbs! I was so happy and proud of myself. 🙂 But then I came upon a stall, and life just seemed to get more and more hectic by the day. In September, my daughter and I were driving back and forth 4 hours to where my husband was working. We would stay with him a few nights and then come back home. The next month, we ‘moved’ to stay with him at his hotel. There was talk of his job possibly relocating us, so we were waiting for some final decisions to be made. Later that same month, our daughter had to have surgery for an infected lymph node. It was crazy. So, my weight loss endeavors (besides just trying to make healthy choices) were pushed to the back burner. I just tried to keep breads and pastas to a minimum, eat more protein and veggies, and tried eating with calorie restriction. I didn’t lose any more weight, and neither did I gain so I was happy.

For the next five months, my weight fluctuated several pounds but I really wasn’t losing anymore. In early April 2015, my husband’s job finally moved us five hours away and my weight was at a good stand-still. I had started counting calories again, this time more seriously. But I would wake up in the middle of the night starving. Nothing I did would help. I couldn’t sleep unless I drank a glass of Almond milk or ate a midnight snack. Literally. Finally, I decided to quit counting calories and just eat until I was full. I also decided to incorporate more good fats and less sugar. I lost about 3 lbs immediately! Then, in July 2015, I was looking into Trim Healthy Mama again to see if it would be feasible for our current lifestyles. I discovered that I was already eating pretty much the same things, except for the fact that I wasn’t separating fats and carbs as they suggest.

So, I decided to get back into it. This time, it wasn’t such a big deal. Meals with my husband were such a breeze because I would just lay out the bread or whatever for him and not eat any myself. I continued doing the THM plan for the next 10 months and lost about 12 lbs. Not much, I know, but when you are trying to lose weight, you know that every little bit helps. 😉

About 3 weeks ago, I went back to the “Low-Fat Living” plan with my husband. Apart from my weight being at another stand-still, our lifestyles had changed and he was wanting to lose weight too (and doesn’t like THM), so I was back at it again. In those three weeks’ time I have lost another 5 lbs. But this time, I have put more emphasis on protein, fiber and lots and lots of greens and vegetables, keeping sugar to a very little minimum. (We all know it is nearly impossible to keep sugar completely at a zero – especially in my house! Lol.)

Great story, but how does this help you?

I’m not here brag about my own weight loss success. In fact, I still have a long ways to go before I hit my pre-pregnancy goal. But I am here to encourage others who may be struggling. I want to share my little successes – AND my failures, including my energetic days and the days I just want to sleep all day long – to show you that life is real, and crazy, and fun, and super amazing.

No special gimmicks.
No products.
No interesting ingredients.
No fancy equipment.

All you need is a lot of determination, some self-control, and a desire to work at it and not give up. 😉

weightcollage

Will you ladies join me?!

5 thoughts on “Mommy’s Unite!

  1. I have not gained a super amount with this pregnancy, but I am the biggest I’ve ever been in my life and I do NOT plan to keep ANY of it! I was 120 pre-pregancy and I know I’ve gained the ‘average’ 30. But I also have gained it everywhere and my old pants don’t even go past my knees barely… This is a bit scary for me and I am trying to do exercises now, but am SOOOO NOT motivated! :/ I may have even gained more since I last weighed (that was at least 2 weeks ago).

    Like

    • I had the great misunderstanding when I was pregnant that all of my weight gain would ‘magically’ disappear once I started nursing. While that happens to a lot of women, to some it does not. And, unfortunately, I was one of those lucky ones who couldn’t lose any weight while nursing! So- now I know that you can’t depend on that to always work for everybody. 😉 But don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll be able to lose what you’ve gained through proper nutrition and (more) exercise! Lol!

      Like

  2. So glad you started this webpage!
    I was so “lucky” to have Hypermesis and only gained just over 20 pounds. (which after a 9 1/2 pound baby and all the water, placenta etc pretty much equaled that) But my post pregnancy body is definitely not the same and I’m looking to shape up, so to speak 😉 Its definitely a journey to find a new, healthy normal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

