Easy Gluten Free Flour

wp-image-1719944541jpg.jpg

We, who have chosen to be gluten free for any number of reason, are always trying to find that “perfect” flour – perfect, as in, like white flour made from wheat berries.
I know I am.

And yet, no matter how hard we try, nothing seems as “perfect” as that powdery white stuff that magically turns into delicious donuts, bread and pastries – of which, all are completely off-limits.

Or, are they??

Although I may not have found that perfect mixture that perfectly resembles white flour, I think I may have stumbled upon something pretty close!

My sister told me about the recipe, and she heard it from one of her friends who graciously allowed me to share here.

Gluten-Free All Purpose Flour

3 parts Arrowroot (or, you can use gluten-free cornstarch)

1 part Rice flour (either brown or white)

Pinch of Xanthan Gum

And that’s it!  If you’re like me, and you want to measure things out, then just do like I did and do 1 cup Arrowroot, 1/3 cup rice flour, and about 1/8 tsp of Xanthan Gum.

wp-image-2046683850jpg.jpg

So far, I have made brownies (I am such a brownie fanatic) and Cinnamon rolls – which both tasted great and feels like regular flour.
I do have to say that it is best to eat your goods within 1-2 days, as the longer they are in the fridge the more cardboard-like they get, unfortunately. :-/

If you try this recipe, don’t hesitate to let me know how it turns out for you in the comments below.

Next on my to-do list: make chocolate cake. 😉

img_20170111_091415.jpg

One thought on “Easy Gluten Free Flour

  1. Pingback: Easy Pineapple-Honey Frosting over Gluten Free White Cake | Modest Fit Mommy

Leave a Reply

