“Chocolatey” Hot Chocolate

dscf1150

We all love a good cup of hot chocolate – decadent and syrupy sweet with a strong chocolatey flavor.  Topped with some fluffy white marshmallows.  Or maybe more of a mild flavor, like a milk chocolate bar.  And I’m sure, if you’re trying to eat healthy, it’s hard to make a copy-cat rendition of Swiss Miss!

While it may be hard, it’s not impossible. 😉  When I make hot chocolate (or hot cocoa) I don’t always make the same recipe… I’m weird like that.  I try something new each time, it seems.

This morning, I decided to make some – great replacement for some Joe when you’re trying to cut back on caffeine – but this time I went super simple.  Basically hot “chocolate milk.”  But don’t be fooled… it may be simple, but if you’re really craving some CHOCOLATE like I was, then let me just say that this will satisfy those cravings once and for all!

dscf1144

“Chocolatey” Hot Chocolate

2 oz unsweetened baking chocolate

2-3 cups unsweetened Almond milk

1/2 cup sweetener (stevia/erythritol, honey, etc)

Start by placing baking chocolate in a saucepan to melt.  When it’s almost melted, start whisking in the milk.  Stir on medium heat until warmed and thoroughly mixed.  Lastly, add sweetener.  If so desired, froth in a blender for extra fullness.  (I am obsessed with frothing…)

dscf1145

Not only is this version low calorie, but it’s also dairy free and sugar free – as long as you don’t use sugar for sweetener.

Of course, there are other ways I like to make hot chocolate.  I do not always have baking chocolate on hand so it’s normally cocoa that I use.  Sometimes I like to add about a tablespoon of butter or coconut oil, for extra ‘healthiness’ and flavor.  Other times I reduce the milk to half then use heavy cream for the other half – talk about extra creamy ooh-la-la!  (Mmmmm!)

There are endless ways to make your cup of chocolate extra yummy and extra yours.  What is your favorite way to make it?

Leave a Reply

