Easy Pineapple-Honey Frosting over Gluten Free White Cake

In honor of Valentine’s Day, we decided to make a cake. But since I ran out of time on that day I had to settle for an all-wheat, all-sugar traditional white cake. (Don’t worry, I felt the effects of it the next day when the number on the scale suggested I gained…)

Yesterday, my almost-4 year old daughter reminded me about making that “other” cake, so we did.

And the result is amazing.

Of course, I tweaked the original recipe to fit what ingredients I had on hand and – aside from leaving out the vanilla extract altogether, it still tastes pretty awesome. 😉

As for the “frosting” I had to invent it because I didn’t want to use powdered sugar (duh), and I didn’t have an avocado or cream cheese, the usual go-to bases for a sugar-free cake frosting.

Instead, I had to use my beloved heavy cream which turned out to be really, really good.

Pineapple-Honey Whipped Cream Frosting

1/2 pint heavy whipping cream

2-3 Tablespoons honey

1 oz crushed (or pureed) fresh pineapple

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Whip the cream until stiff with a hand mixer, then add the honey to your taste. Turn off the mixer and gently fold in the crushed pineapple and vanilla.

My daughter loves to color everything so of course we made it Spring-like with a beautiful green and pink. Not quite Easter, I know, but we’re preparing. 😉

White Cake (Gluten- and Sugar-Free)

2 cups Easy Gluten-Free Flour Blend

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoons Himalayan pink salt

10 tablespoons butter, softened

1-1/3 cups buttermilk (I used the old technique of adding vinegar to my milk)

4 egg whites

1 whole egg

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

Stevia/Erythritol equivalent to 1 cup (for me, it was 24 packets)

Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease two 9″ round pans and set aside.  In a small bowl, mix together the dry ingredients and set aside.

In a stand mixer or medium bowl, beat on medium speed the butter until whipped. Add the sweeteners and continue to mix on low-medium speed.

Grab a cup measure and measure your milk. Add egg whites and egg, and beat together.

Add flour mixture and milk/egg mixture alternately to the butter mixture, until all is thoroughly blended.  You may need to let mix for an extra minute or two.  Be sure to scrape the sides of your mixing bowl and possibly the bottom to make sure no ingredients are left unmixed.  Stir in any food coloring, if you like.

Pour batter evenly into your cake pans and bake for 20-25 minutes. Insert a toothpick or knife to check for doneness.

Let cool completely before frosting. 🙂

Best of all, if you’re counting your calories like I am, this cake is not too heavy on the calories. 😉  One slice – with frosting – is 297 calories, 5g of protein, and only 27g of carbohydrates.

*Original cake recipe can be found here.

If you tried either of these recipes, let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Easy Pineapple-Honey Frosting over Gluten Free White Cake

Leave a Reply

